Area 3 Leadership

Rollin “RJ” Jackson serves as the 2020-2021 Central Region Area 3 Venturing President. RJ is an Eagle Scout from Crew 2783 in Ballwin, MO, within the Greater St. Louis Area Council. He has been in scouting for 11 years and Venturing for 3. During his time in the program, RJ has staffed his home council’s NYLT courses 4 times, National Advanced Youth Leadership Experience (NAYLE), National Youth Leadership Training Leadership Academy (NYLTLA) 3 times, and National Order of the Arrow Conference (NOAC) once. Through his love of STEM, he has earned both the Dr. Bernard Harris and Thomas Edison SUPERNOVA Awards. From Hiking 112 Miles at Philmont to Serving on the Model United Nations Contingent at this past summer’s World Jamboree, RJ takes every opportunity that Venturing and Scouting offer to him.RJ has served as his Council’s Vice President of Program, and is currently serving as a Chapter Chief for the Boone Trails Order of the Arrow Chapter. He is also starting the planning to complete his Albert Einstein Gold Supernova Award, while also completing his Venturing Ranks. RJ is looking forward to all the Central Region and Area 3 Venturing has to offer this year!

Amanda Vogt serves as the Central Region Area 3 Venturing Advisor. Amanda is from the Greater St. Louis Area Council where she serves as an Associate Advisor in charge of Advancement for Crew 2783. During her time in Venturing she served as the 2008-2009 National Venturing President, the 2007-2008 Central Region Venturing President, and as President at the Area, Council, District, and Crew levels as well. Amanda earned the Ranger, TRUST, Venturing Silver Award, is a recipient of the Girl Scout Gold Award, and the Council, Regional, and National Venturing Leadership Award. Currently Amanda is also serving as a representative of the United Methodist Church on the National Religious Relations Committee and as the Missouri Conference Scouting Coordinator for the United Methodist Church. Amanda is a graduate of Lindenwood University with a BA in Accounting and an MBA with an emphasis in Marketing. She pays for her Scouting habit by serving as the Director for Market Development for a nationwide publishing company.

Ina Pearsall is the Central Region Area 3 Venturing Associate Advisor of Administration. Ina began her Scouting career as a youth in Explorer Post 9863, Chicago Area Council and returned to Scouting as an adult with Pack 119 in 1993, when her son joined Cub Scouting. She advanced to the troop level, serving on the troop committee, then committee chair. She was a founding member of Crew 119, and continues to serve as the Advisor. She was also a Girl Scout leader as her daughter grew up until she could join Venturing. Ina is currently serving as Illowa Council’s VOA Advisor and Venturing training coordinator. Ina received her Wood Badge beads in 2001 and was on the staff of the 4 following courses, serving as Scoutmaster for C3-133-11-1. She has also completed Powderhorn, and served on staff for 2 courses in 2011. She has completed 2 treks at Philmont, and served on the national staff for the last 3 jamborees. She was the Advisor for Illowa Council’s jamboree contingent in 2013. Ina has received the Scouter’s Key, District Award of Merit, Silver Beaver, Unit Leader Award of Merit, the Venturing Leadership Award (council level) and is a Vigil member of Illowa Council’s Order of the Arrow.

Jon Pennington is the Central Region Area 3 Venturing Associate Advisor of Program. Jon is from the Greater St. Louis Area Council. He has served as a crew advisor since 2015 and district Venturing advisor. He is currently the Central Region Venturing Area 3 Associate Advisor of Program. He loves everything Scouting has to offer from weeks long Philmont treks to a weekend at Fall Fun Rally. He has completed Woodbadge, Seabadge, Powder Horn, three Philmont treks, and one Sea Base adventure. He has also staffed Powder Horn, Seabadge and served as co-dean 2for the University of Scouting Venturing College. Jon is looking forward to helping the youth officers in Area 3.

Emily Mausshardt is the Central Region Area 3 Venturing Associate Advisor of Communication. She is from the Greater St. Louis Area Council (GSLAC) in Ballwin, Missouri. Emily is currently a junior at Truman State University pursuing a Bachelor’s Degree in Math and is part of the Pre-Masters of Art in Education program. During her time as a Venturer, Emily has served as the Central Region Venturing Vice President of Communications, Area 3 Venturing President, GSLAC New Horizons District Venturing President, New Horizons District Ranger Award Presentation Coordinator, Crew 627 President, and Crew 627 Vice President of Communications. She has earned the Religious Life and Outdoor Bronze Awards, the Gold Award, the Silver Award, and the Pope Pius XII Award. She is currently finishing her Venturing Ranger Award. She is also a recipient of the Council, Area, and Regional Venturing Leadership Awards. She is a member of the National Youth Leadership Society. Emily was active in the Girl Scouts through high school and earned the GSUSA Bronze, Silver, and Gold Awards. Emily has completed the VLSC, ILSC, Kodiak, Kodiak X, NYLT, and NAYLE leadership training courses. In 2012, she completed the Powder Horn resource management course. She has served as a program counselor at John S. Swift Base, Greater St. Louis Area Council’s Venturing summer camp, for the past two summers. In 2010, she served as the Chaplain’s Aide for her crew’s Philmont trek, and as the Crew Leader on their trek to Philmont in 2012. She has also attended Winterfest in Gatlinburg, Tennessee for three years. At Truman, Emily is involved in the Catholic Newman Center choir on campus, and is a member of the national co-ed service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega. She is also a member of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) and the brand new Venturing Crew 2010 in Kirksville, Missouri. While in high school at Visitation Academy, Emily was a member of the National Honor Society, played handbells, and was very active in the technical side of the school’s theatre program.

Past Leadership